Thread: Best 9mm Luger and .40 S&W FMJ Ammo

Best 9mm Luger and .40 S&W FMJ Ammo

I'm considering going rustic camping in State/National Forrest in Michigan with my family. As such my primary defense concern moves away from human attackers in an urban setting where over penetration is a serious concern to animal attackers in the woods where over penetration is no concern.

Any suggestions on Ammo for 9mm Luger FMJ?

I also have a .40 S&W I'd pack with me. Any suggestions there?
    Call for a cop, call for an ambulance, and call for a pizza. See who shows up first.

I am not a lawyer (merely an omnipotent member of a continuum). The contents of this post are not a substitute for sound legal advice from a licensed attorney in your jurisdiction.

Comments and views stated in my post are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of Michigan Open Carry, Inc. unless stated otherwise in the post.

Well, if a marauding bear were to be on the offensive, a pistol may not be effective unless it's a very high caliber like 500 S&W, .44 Magnum or at the very smallest, .357 Magnum. Ideally, a 12 gauge slug or 00 Buck would be best for dispatching such a large animal. Mountain lions could probably be taken out with a personal defense round, but you may still want to go with the largest caliber you could carry and control. Rather than standard personal defense hollow points, a bonded hollow point such as the FBI's go to .45 made by Winchester under the ranger-T series could be a good choice. They could hold up against thick animal hide on impact then expand to a lesser degree. A Taurus Judge with .45 LC or .410 may even be a good idea. Also, for snakes, a small revolver with snake shot might not be a bad idea.