• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

new to oc

phreak

hi im new to the forum and new to oc. i have been carrying concealed for 6 years. today i went out oc for the first time. stopped by 2 stores and 1 mcdonalds. no weird looks or questions. i honestly dont think anyone noticed. all in all, a good day.

Nevada carrier

My favorite part is when someone starts to get all bent out of shape and before you even respond to them someone else has already given them the "you aint in California anymore," line. Honestly, most people who do notice are conditioned to believe that you couldn't be a bad guy or you wouldn't have it out where everyone could see it. It seems like most negative encounters come as a result of people seeing someone's firearm when they meant to keep in concealed, because then they look like someone with something to hide.

Last edited:

28kfps

Great an upswing in first timers. Welcome to one more open carry person. I carried concealed for over 13 years before I started open carrying. Only took me about 3 outings to get comfortable with the open firearm on my side. I started open carry because of this web site.

45 ACP rocks