Thread: Quick Question

Quick Question

I am new to the "open carry" laws of any state and did not previously know about them until today. That being said, I am in the Military on Active orders out of my state of residence...
    Is it still legal for me to open carry with out a Concealed Carry License even though i am not a resident of state i am living in?

Thanks in advance!

Accomplished Advocate color of law's Avatar
    You don't have to be a resident of the state to open carry. I use the term resident loosely. You know that without a CCL you cannot carry in your car...

Yes, i did know about the concealed in car stuff but thanks! I am looking to get my Concealed handgun license for ohio anyways, anyone know a price range on the fee to get this licence?
    Thanks

more questions

Quote Originally Posted by color of law View Post
    You don't have to be a resident of the state to open carry. I use the term resident loosely. You know that without a CCL you cannot carry in your car...
    Ok. I understand you can not carry in the car. But if you open carry can you carry into Restaurant that serve alcohol. I guess my question is do you follow the same conceal carry laws? Also I would assume you have to check city Law in regards to open carry?

I could be wrong and someone correct me if I am. But I believe the law is that a firearm or weapon cannot be brought into a restaurant that serves alcohol in Ohio, regardless of how it is brought in.

I believe there is still some legal question as to whether some of the concealed carry laws apply to OC. I think you would have to look as to whether the orc specifically says "concealed carry" or "firearm" , as open carry isn't specifically referenced in Ohio law that I am aware of.
    Last edited by trooper46; 01-29-2011 at 10:32 PM.

State Researcher
    Quote Originally Posted by broker32 View Post