Thread: Fowlerville reviewing open-carry prohibition

Fowlerville reviewing open-carry prohibition

snip

Officials in Fowlerville are reviewing an ordinance that currently bans the possession of weapons in public places after a complaint from a national pro-gun group, according to Village President Pro Tem Dennis Kuehn.

Kuehn said language in the ordinance is being reviewed by Village Attorney David Stoker. Kuehn added state law does not prohibit the open possession of firearms, only the discharge of those weapons.

Some communities, such as Fowlerville, have ordinances that do prohibit open carrying. The pro-gun group says Fowlerville's ordinance is not in compliance with state law, according to Kuehn.

snip

http://www.livingstondaily.com/artic...ry+prohibition

Hopefully Lansing will take us seriously after next Monday and do the same...
    Call for a cop, call for an ambulance, and call for a pizza. See who shows up first.

I am not a lawyer (merely an omnipotent member of a continuum). The contents of this post are not a substitute for sound legal advice from a licensed attorney in your jurisdiction.

Comments and views stated in my post are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of Michigan Open Carry, Inc. unless stated otherwise in the post.

Anti-Saldana Freedom Fighter Venator's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by detroit_fan View Post
    snip

Officials in Fowlerville are reviewing an ordinance that currently bans the possession of weapons in public places after a complaint from a national pro-gun group, according to Village President Pro Tem Dennis Kuehn.

Kuehn said language in the ordinance is being reviewed by Village Attorney David Stoker. Kuehn added state law does not prohibit the open possession of firearms, only the discharge of those weapons.