Thread: Hello new to OC

Hello new to OC

Hello i am new to open carry and will be buying a handgun within the next month or so. i also hope to get my cpl after my 21st birthday.
    i was wondering if there is any members in the lake orion area who could give me some advice or tell me if they have had any trouble. maybe meet up and have lunch somewhere and talk about open carry and the laws.
    Thank you for any advice
    RenkaiWulf

Banned
    Welcome. I don't think it will take very long at all to find someone to meet up with. My best advice to begin with is to get some training. If the worst happens, you don't want to make it worse than that.

As far as the laws go, check out the stickies to start with. This one is a good place to start. http://forum.opencarry.org/forums/sh...-Guide-Project

yea i have looked at all of the stickies i've been lurking for about a week so i got the gist of most of the laws
    as for training i have had quite a bit of that i've been shooting rifles since i was 10 and handguns since 14, i am now 19. i would just like to talk with an OCer who has some experience with the local PD and local shops
    Thank you
    RenkaiWulf

Banned
    Ok good then. By your first post, I wasn't sure if this were your first gun and you planned on just carrying it. I've seen that before. Are you planning on OCing before you get your CPL? If so, there are a few things we should go over first, if not, then things are a lot simpler to discuss. Here is a really excellent quick reference chart that WARCHILD made.