Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: School bus stop

School bus stop

i cant find anything about this so i figure i would ask here, is a school bus stop a gun free zone for non-CPL holders
    eg. i go out to the bus stop to get my GF's 6YO sister off the bus and im OCing
    i was wondering because at my bus stop when i was in high school an 18YO student was told that they have to step about 10 ft away from the bus stop if they were smoking a cig, quoting the tobacco free school policy
    thank you in advance

Last edited by lapeer20m; 02-16-2011 at 08:52 PM.
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? (who will watch the watchmen?)

I am not a lawyer. Nothing in any of posts should be construed as legal advice.

Quote Originally Posted by lapeer20m View Post
    No such MCL here in michigan.

there are other definitions for school or school property, but here is the definition that deals specifically with firearms and schools....

http://legislature.mi.gov/%28S%28xwf...0AND%20firearm
    I think it would be a rare event, but could a prosecutor push the issue if he/she wanted to, and would a jury convict? I would hope not, but there is always that possibility that "letter c" above could be used:

c) “School property” means a building, playing field, or property used for school purposes to impart instruction to children or used for functions and events sponsored by a school, except a building used primarily for adult education or college extension courses.

The word "function" means:

1.the kind of action or activity proper to a person, thing, or institution; the purpose for which something is designed or exists; role.
    2.any ceremonious public or social gathering or occasion.
    3.a factor related to or dependent upon other factors: Price is a function of supply and demand.

function. (n.d.). Dictionary.com Unabridged. Retrieved February 15, 2011, from Dictionary.com website: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/function