Thread: Open Carry *MAY* already be legal - An Assignment

Hybrid View

Open Carry *MAY* already be legal - An Assignment

First off, IANAL (I am not a lawyer).

Second, IANAL

Background:

HB 1400 is the bill that would "allow" open carry in the state of OK.

HB 1400 would modify Title 21 Section 1289.6 (Conditions under which firearms may be carried) to include the following reason why people could openly carry a loaded or unloaded firearm:

When carried in a holster that is wholly or partially visible or in a scabbard or case designed for carrying firearms that is wholly or partially visible and the person is eighteen (18) years of age or older; or
    There is already language in this section of code that states:

For any legitimate purpose not in violation of the Oklahoma Firearms Act of 1971, Sections 1289.1 through 1289.17 of this title or any legislative enactment regarding the use, ownership and control of firearms.
    Now, since Title 21 starts off my saying
    The Legislature finds as a matter of public policy and fact that it is necessary for the safe and lawful use of firearms to curb and prevent crime wherein weapons are used by enacting legislation having the purpose of controlling the use of firearms, and of prevention of their use, without unnecessarily denying their lawful use in defense of life, home and property, and their use by the United States or state military organizations and as may otherwise be provided by law, including their use and transportation for lawful purposes.
    I then submit that since the legislature of the state notes the lawful use of firearms in defense of life, home and property, then that must make it a legitimate purpose. Therefore open carry under 1289.6 is already legal due to defense of life, home, and property begin legitimate.