• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Letter from Afganistan to WIS Senators

ayce2

My wife's cousin" son:

I am a soldier serving in the United States Army currently serving in Afghanistan. I am writing as a result of the recent actions, or lack of actions, in the state Senate. I am fully aware of the situation and the terms brought to the table concerning the budget and the legislation to fix it. What concern me are not the issues at all. Regardless of party or political view, the actions of the Democratic Senators were appalling! Running away from a vote because of the fear of failure is wrong on many levels. First of all as a politician it is an obligation to vote on matters regarding the state and the welfare of the people of the state. An American Citizen has a right to vote, which means they may choose to vote how they see fit or not to vote at all. As a Senator the right to vote is now not only a right but an obligation. Also I see a very large double standard in a Senator campaigning and asking for votes to run away from a vote themselves. The job of a Senator in this situation is to vote "yay" or "nay" and let the votes fall as they may, that is how Democracy works, not to act like cowards and run. Running abandons Democracy and all of the American people they swore to represent.