Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: GRNC Alert 2-26-11: IS CASTLE DOCTRINE PROPOSAL A RUSE?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    173

    GRNC Alert 2-26-11: IS CASTLE DOCTRINE PROPOSAL A RUSE?

    Grass Roots North Carolina P.O. Box 10665 Raleigh, NC 27605, 919-664-8565

    GRNC Alert 2-26-11:
    IS CASTLE DOCTRINE PROPOSAL A RUSE?

    DOES REPUBLICAN HOUSE MAJORITY LEADER THINK YOU'RE STUPID?

    BEHOLD: 'The STAM SCAM'

    Also in this issue:
    Bills for restaurant, parks and guns in vehicles get hearings on Wednesday, March 2.

    To paraphrase a colloquialism, Republican House Majority Leader Paul Stam is trying to feed you manure by calling it a sandwich. As you recall, Stam led the attack against Castle Doctrine bill HB 74 in its House Judiciary subcommittee hearing. In relentless questioning apparently intended to tie up the bill, he painted scenarios of drug dealers shooting it out and using Castle Doctrine as a legal defense (this was rebutted by committee counsel), likening the bill to "expedited execution." Using phrases like "dead people on the floor" and "shoot first and ask questions later," Stam eventually produced handwritten language he claimed would accomplish "95%" of what bill supporters want.

    Now the full proposal is out, and it is worthless. Not only does it fail to offer the presumption of reasonable fear of death or great bodily injury for victims whose homes, vehicles or workplaces are forcibly and unlawfully entered, the defense offered victims does nothing. Says the legal counsel for the legislature: "The State currently has the burden of disproving the defense, so the new subsection wouldn't change current law."

    IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUIRED

    * CALL AND E-MAIL MAJORITY LEADER 'SKIP' STAM AGAIN: Remind him that gun owners helped replace previous leadership over precisely this issue. Reach him at: Paul.Stam@ncleg.net and 919-733-2962. The message to deliver is below.

    * E-MAIL SPEAKER THOM TILLIS AGAIN: Pro-gun Speaker Tillis (R-Mecklenburg, ****) supports Castle Doctrine, but needs POLITE AND CONSTRUCTIVE input to rein in Majority Leader Stam. At this point, gun owners from outside his district should e-mail only. Constituents should call. Reach Tillis at: Thom.Tillis@ncleg.net. The message to deliver is below.

    * USE GRNC's AUTOMATED EMAIL: Contact all members of the House Judiciary Committee by going to: [ http://grnc.org/alerts/email2_25_11.htm ] to deliver a preset but customizable message.

    DELIVER THESE MESSAGES

    It is crucial to turn up the heat RIGHT NOW. If you e-mailed once, e-mail again. If you called once, call again. To reiterate: A light touch is all that is required for Speaker Tillis and members of the Judiciary Committee. They haven't signed off on The Stam Scam. They are merely its targets.

    Dear Speaker Tillis:

    I am alarmed by Majority Leader Paul Stam's attack on Castle Doctrine bill HB 74. In the last election, Second Amendment voters supported new leadership because previous leaders worked to undermine gun rights. Indeed, gun owners were central to the transfer of power in both chambers of the General Assembly.

    So imagine my surprise when a Republican and member of leadership began to attack efforts to bolster the ability of lawful North Carolinians to defend themselves against violent predators. Is this our reward? Representative Stam's proposal for HB 74 is nothing but a ruse designed to make gun owners think they are getting something when, in fact, it does little or nothing.

    I look forward to telling family, friends and co-workers how leaders in both the House and Senate passed legislation to bolster the rights of North Carolina gun owners.

    Respectfully,
    --------------------------------------------

    Representative Stam:

    Do legislators think North Carolina gun rights supporters are stupid? Your proposal for HB 74 has all the appearances of a ruse designed to make North Carolinians think they are getting something to protect themselves against violent crime while, in reality, doing little or nothing at all.

    Rest assured I will be monitoring your actions via Grass Roots North Carolina legislative alerts. Any vote for your proposal will be construed as anti-gun. Unless you want to put Republicans on the wrong side of a gun vote, as Representative Joe Kiser once did, I would suggest you shelve it and support HB 74 in its present version.

    We didn't put Republicans in power to undermine our rights. I strongly suggest you consider the fate of the last House Majority Leader.

    Respectfully,
    -----------------------------------------------

    Honorable Members of the House Judiciary Committee:

    I strongly urge you to support HB 74: "Castle Doctrine" in its present form. Absent a presumption of reasonable fear of death or great bodily injury for victims of forcible entries into homes, vehicles, and workplaces, the bill would be worthless.

    Sadly, House Majority Leader Paul Stam seems to have forgotten that Second Amendment supporters were instrumental in bringing a pro-gun majority to the General Assembly. He not only voted against the bill in its subcommittee, but now intends to offer gun owners a shell designed to create the impression of an effective bill while actually offering little or nothing.

    A nearly identical bill just passed Second Reading in the Senate, attracting bipartisan support. I strongly urge you to contact Representative Stam and ask him to shelve his Proposed Committee Substitute. I will be monitoring this bill via Grass Roots North Carolina legislative alerts.

    Respectfully,
    -----------------------------------------------------

    HEARINGS FOR PRO-GUN BILLS

    HB 63 and HB 111 will receive hearings in the NC House Judiciary Subcommittee A on Wednesday, March 2. HB 63 will bar merchants and employers from prohibiting guns in locked vehicles. HB 111 was introduced at GRNC behest and will remove prohibitions on concealed carry in restaurants and municipal parks. Additional contact information for committee members will follow in coming days.
    ----------------------
    Full House Judiciary Committee Contact Information
    Chairman
    N. Leo Daughtry
    919-733-5605
    Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 2207
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Justin P. Burr
    919-733-5908
    Justin.Burr@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 538
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925


    Tim Moore
    919-733-4838
    Tim.Moore@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 1326
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Grey Mills
    919-733-5741
    Grey.Mills@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 2221
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    David Guice
    919-715-4466
    David.Guice@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 528
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    Johnathan Rhyne, Jr.
    919-733-5782
    Johnathan.Rhyne@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 2208
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Shirley B. Randleman
    919-733-5935
    Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 531
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    Angela R. Bryant
    919-733-5878
    Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 542
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    Rayne Brown
    919-715-0873
    Rayne.Brown@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 638
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    Alice L. Bordsen
    919-733-5820
    Alice.Bordsen@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 602
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    John M. Blust
    919-733-5781
    John.Blust@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 1229
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Hugh Blackwell
    919-733-5805
    Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 541
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    Martha B. Alexander
    919-733-5807
    Martha.Alexander@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 1213
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Rick Glazier
    919-733-5601
    Rick.Glazier@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 1021
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Bill Faison
    919-715-3019
    Bill.Faison@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 405
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    John Faircloth
    919-733-5877
    John.Faircloth@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 306A3
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    Jimmy Dixon
    919-715-3021
    Jimmy.Dixon@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 1002
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    James W. Crawford, Jr.
    919-733-5824
    Jim.Crawford@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 1321
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Dan W. Ingle
    919-733-5905
    Dan.Ingle@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 530
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    Julia C. Howard
    919-733-5904
    Julia.Howard@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 1106
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Pricey Harrison
    919-733-5771
    Pricey.Harrison@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 1218
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Larry D. Hall
    919-733-5872
    Larry.Hall@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 1015
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Phillip Haire
    919-715-3005
    Phillip.Haire@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 609
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    Joe Hackney
    919-733-0057
    Joe.Hackney@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 612
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    Chuck McGrady
    919-733-5956
    Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 418A
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    Grier Martin
    919-733-5758
    Grier.Martin@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 1219
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Ric Killian
    919-733-5886
    Ric.Killian@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 2219
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Jonathan C. Jordan
    919-733-7727
    Jonathan.Jordan@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 418C
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    Bert Jones
    919-733-5779
    Bert.Jones@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 306A1
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    Darren G. Jackson
    919-733-5974
    Darren.Jackson@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 1019
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Verla Insko
    919-733-7208
    Verla.Insko@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 603
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    Jennifer Weiss
    919-715-3010
    Jennifer.Weiss@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 1109
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Sarah Stevens
    919-715-1883
    Sarah.Stevens@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 416A
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    Paul Stam
    919-733-2962
    Paul.Stam@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 2301
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Deborah K. Ross
    919-733-5773
    Deborah.Ross@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 1023
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    G. L. Pridgen
    919-733-5821
    Gaston.Pridgen@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 2223
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

    Annie W. Mobley
    919-733-5780
    Annie.Mobley@ncleg.net
    300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 501
    Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

    Henry M. Michaux, Jr.
    919-715-2528
    Mickey.Michaux@ncleg.net
    16 W. Jones Street, Room 1220
    Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
    ----------------------

    You may find your NC STATE representative by going here:
    http://www.grnc.org/contact_reps.htm

    You may write your FEDERAL congressman by going here:
    http://www.house.gov/writerep/

    You may write your FEDERAL senators by going here:
    http://www.senate.gov/

    -------------------
    Support these PRO RKBA merchants who, as GRNC sponsors, are supporting your Second Amendment rights:

    Hyatt Gun Shop, 3332 Wilkinson Blvd., Charlotte, NC 28208, 704-394-0387, www.hyattguns.com
    C & E Gun Shows, 4225 Fortress Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060; Phone 540-953-0016 or 888-715-0606; http://www.cegunshows.com/
    Ryan & Nina Leonard, Down South Ammo, Home of "SOUTHERN THUNDER" Exploding Targets, http://downsouthammo.com/
    Duncan Gun & Pawn, 414 Second St., North Wilkesboro, NC 28659, 336-667-6303, www.duncangun.com
    Shooter's Express, 2 Caldwell Dr., Belmont, NC 28012, 800-358-GUNS, www.shootersexpress.com
    The Aisle Pawn Shop, 216 N. Main St., Mooresville, NC 28115, 704-663-5656
    Gunner's Alley, LLC, 203 N. Harrison Ave., Ste. 130, Cary, NC 27513, www.gunnersalley.com, 919-388-1991, contact: Ed Guerriero, ed@gunnersalley.com
    Lake Norman Firearms, Inc., 20823 N. Main Street, Cornelius, NC 28031, www.lknfirearms.com, 704-892-7839
    Vanguard Security Consulting, LLC, 19135 W. Catawba Ave, Cornelius, NC 28031
    DoubleD Media, 8300 Raintree Lane, Charlotte, NC 28277, ph: 704-650-5555, fx: 704-544-0326, donna@doubledme.com

  2. #2
    Regular Member Coniferous's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    24
    Thanks GRNC for staying on top of this. Sometimes the fact that something is manure within a sandwich wrapping can be easily overlooked in the complicated political processes.

    -deleted the picture. Some sayings are not worth putting into a picture. -Gray, OCDO Moderator Team
    Last edited by Gray Peterson; 02-27-2011 at 04:06 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •