Thread: Guns near schools

Guns near schools

There is a school right behind me, how will that affect my right to carry on our own property? Although I do not own a handgun yet due to finances/low to no income, I would like to one day soon hopefully, but it dawned on me the school that is now right behind us may affect the ability to so. Any insight anyone?

simple answer yes on your own land other than that no not within 1000 ft.

Quote Originally Posted by freedom_fighter_of_america View Post
    There is a school right behind me, how will that affect my right to carry on our own property? Although I do not own a handgun yet due to finances/low to no income, I would like to one day soon hopefully, but it dawned on me the school that is now right behind us may affect the ability to so. Any insight anyone?
    Well I'm new to Wisconisn but the way Nutczak explained it to me was something like: You can carry anywhere inside the 1000 foot circle that is private property. Obviously, this assumes the owner/person in charge of said private property hasn't forbidden firearms. The 1000 foot rule applies to public property... sidewalks etc.

Quote Originally Posted by 1FASTC4 View Post
    Well I'm new to Wisconisn but the way Nutczak explained it to me was something like: You can carry anywhere inside the 1000 foot circle that is private property. Obviously, this assumes the owner/person in charge of said private property hasn't forbidden firearms. The 1000 foot rule applies to public property... sidewalks etc.
    that is 100% correct. I live within 1000 feet of a school and I carry on my property as well as on my neighbor's property. At no point while traveling between the 2 do I hit public property, so at the dismay of local law enforcement, they can't do anything about it.
    I am Calico Jack,,,, And I approve this message!
    (Paid for by the blood of patriots, and Calico Jack Defense)
    Calico Jack Defense