Thread: Open carry at the gym?

Open carry at the gym?

I feel silly asking this question as my gut tells me that common sense trumps legality but I thought I'd throw it out there and see what other opinions are.

I live in North Carolina where OC is legal. I have been carrying concealed for 10 years and only recently started coming around to the concept of OC.

I am a member of a fitness center/gym and haven't seen any signage against carrying firearms.

How do y'all feel about carrying into the gym (in my street clothes prior to changing into my workout clothes, which is typically shorts and a t-shirt).

The main thing that's preventing me from doing this is that I'd have to lock the gun in the locker while I'm working out and the gym states very clearly that they are not responsible for stolen valuables. I think the odds of someone busting my lock and stealing the gun in a very public locker room are slim but it's still a remote possibility.

I run the same risk leaving it locked in my car except nobody will know it's there because they didn't see me carrying it.

Thoughts?

Locker room thefts in gyms are more common than most people want to admit, its not worth the risk. As far as leaving it in the car, look into the Nano Vault models by Gunvault. I have one in each of my vehicles and its an extra safety option for me. It's great to have especially if I choose to go somewhere or do something that's contrary to standard gun safety or according to my state's gun laws (i.e. having a beer after work)

I'd say stop wearing shorts and carry concealed on your ankle...I carry a lil .38 when working out.

Quote Originally Posted by cyras21 View Post
    I'd say stop wearing shorts and carry concealed on your ankle...I carry a lil .38 when working out.
    I wonder how that would work while doing Body Combat (mixed martial arts)?