Thread: Going Armed to the Terror of the Public

Going Armed to the Terror of the Public

Hello all,

I am new to open carrying, and have been doing everything I can to learn the rules. I have talked to many people, and even received some answers on this website. However, the one thing I can't figure out is what going armed to the terror of the public means. When can I be charged with this? What actions would cause an officer to arrest you for this? Is there any more advice or general thoughts to help me understand?

By the way, this forum has made a big impact in Cumberland county. When I asked an officer some simple questions about open carrying, he referred me to this website, and said that the people who hang around and post on opencarry.org usually know their gun laws pretty well.

There are people here that have been carrying in this state for many decades and they still couldn't give you a definite answer lol. It's enforcement is highly subjective depending on the opinion and interpretation of the LEO involved, and normally ends up being a "tack on" charge in addition to other charges people get for crimes they are accused of that involved weapons.

Personally, I've read numerous cases involving this law and some times it sticks and other times it doesn't. Rarely is it used as a stand alone charge, but that doesn't mean it's unheard of, either.

Basically, it's a filler law especially because NC doesn't have much in the way of "unlawful display of a firearm" types of laws. Simply carrying your weapon in your holster and not drawing attention to it intentionally does not qualify, nor should it. Supposedly, your intent has the most bearing as to whether or not you can or will be charged with it. If you're demonstrated intent is not to cause others fear or to "terrorize" them, it's not supposed to be charged.