Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 21 feet?

Question 21 feet?

In a social gathering the other day, the topic of self-defense came up. Someone said you needed to be within 21 feet of the attacker in order to legally shoot in self defense. Of course, I should have told him "citation needed", but I didn't.

His reasoning was, if the attacker was more than 21 feet away than you had "other options". However, we all know under the Self Defense Statute of 2006, there is no duty to retreat.

Does anyone have any knowledge of this supposed rule? If so, please provide a citation.
    Call for a cop, call for an ambulance, and call for a pizza. See who shows up first.

I am not a lawyer (merely an omnipotent member of a continuum). The contents of this post are not a substitute for sound legal advice from a licensed attorney in your jurisdiction.

Comments and views stated in my post are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of Michigan Open Carry, Inc. unless stated otherwise in the post.

Only that I have been taught in multiple SD class that 21' is too close if they have a knife... that 21' is is only a guide line... that MI no longer has the retreat rule... that old farts like my self could not our run an 21 year old attacker and to attempt to do so would be folly... that movement (zig zag) is your best defense... and that they only step out in the open and stand still to defend and survive in the movies...
    Last edited by Sheldon; 03-22-2011 at 12:28 AM.

I could find no cite on it, im still looking

the only thing i found was about the 21 foot rule was in how quick someone in side of 21 foot can get to you, this was also in my cpl class but ive never seen any law on it in Michigan or any other state, but again ill continue to look

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tueller_Drill

The Tueller Drill is a self-defense training exercise to prepare against a short-range knife attack when armed only with a holstered handgun.