Thread: An interesting question.

An interesting question.

I am still new to Washington state but I would like to know because I am in the process of moving AGAIN. What standpoint would LE take on a gun owner and a felon living under the same roof so long as the felon never has access to the firearm/firearms? If anyone could elaborate on this it would be greatly appreciated. I know it is unrelated but a curious question none the less.

As long as the felon has no access to the weapons what so ever , there is no problem . With one caveat , as long as your not sharing one room as sleeping quarters and the weapon is stored in a locked container that is not in a common area (read as the safe is in the gun owners . I got this from my son's probation officer when he stayed with me . the DOC official actually had to come and inspect my house to verify he wouldn't have easy access to my weapons but if the roommate isn't probation you won't have to go through this step .

Worth Reading:
    http://www.komonews.com/news/local/80924912.html

Groves called police in late November 2008 after he returned home to find a broken window in his Hewitt Avenue house. He says he told officers that his wife owned a rifle and handgun. Nothing had been stolen from the home, but Groves was arrested for being a felon in possession of firearms.

This information is greatly appreciated. I will take the necessary precautions however I do not feel it will be a problem, I also know that this individual is no longer on probation or parole. However one further question in the EXTREMELY unlikely event that the firearm was misused would legal responsibility fall upon my head?

Of course.

9.41.040 Unlawful possession of firearms -- Ownership, possession by certain persons--Penalties.