Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: CHP Confusion in Charlotte

  1. #1
    Regular Member CarryHard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    57

    CHP Confusion in Charlotte

    So I need to know the exact laws on this

    Why do some places seem to charge different prices for a "class"?

    Is the class mandatory or can you just go to the office downtown and pay 90$ and wait?

    I've been trying to find information but none of my searches on Google lead to any concrete information so if anyone has the laws they could show me I'd really appreciate it

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Fayetteville, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    381
    Quote Originally Posted by CarryHard View Post
    So I need to know the exact laws on this

    Why do some places seem to charge different prices for a "class"?

    Is the class mandatory or can you just go to the office downtown and pay 90$ and wait?

    I've been trying to find information but none of my searches on Google lead to any concrete information so if anyone has the laws they could show me I'd really appreciate it

    Thanks
    You have to take the class, its the law. They can charge what ever they want because the fee is not set. The classes are all the same. Take the cheapest one.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Conover
    Posts
    237
    only $75 here in the Hickory area....

  4. #4
    Regular Member WTFOVER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    WNC
    Posts
    111
    I only charge $50 for the class. Not looking to get rich, just recoupe some of my costs. Some people charge as high as $100-$120 a class.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Belmont, NC
    Posts
    184
    If your in Gaston County you have to make an appointment with the sheriff to do the finger prints and paperwork. Unless it has changed. I went thinking I'll get it all done now and got there and had to make the appointment and come back.
    Walk softly and carry a large caliber.

  6. #6
    Regular Member CarryHard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by WTFOVER View Post
    I only charge $50 for the class. Not looking to get rich, just recoupe some of my costs. Some people charge as high as $100-$120 a class.
    Ya the places here are from 100$ to 160$

  7. #7
    Regular Member WTFOVER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    WNC
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by CarryHard View Post
    Ya the places here are from 100$ to 160$

  8. #8
    mattwestm
    Guest
    I was under the impression that the state requires instructors to charge a certain price for the class. I think Dreamer wanted to offer the NC CHP course for really cheap, but there was some discrepancy about cost. (Dreamer, correct me if I am mistaken).

    Most of the places around here charge anywhere from $85 to $105. That's the main reason I'm getting my non-res Florida permit. It'll save me a little bit of money and it's good for 7 years instead of 5. No 8 hour class either.
    Last edited by mattwestm; 04-11-2011 at 06:53 PM.

  9. #9
    Regular Member CarryHard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by mattwestm View Post
    I was under the impression that the state requires instructors to charge a certain price for the class. I think Dreamer wanted to offer the NC CHP course for really cheap, but there was some discrepancy about cost. (Dreamer, correct me if I am mistaken).

    Most of the places around here charge anywhere from $85 to $105. That's the main reason I'm getting my non-res Florida permit. It'll save me a little bit of money and it's good for 7 years instead of 5. No 8 hour class either.
    How can i get a non-res Florida permit?

  10. #10
    Regular Member WTFOVER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    WNC
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by mattwestm View Post
    I was under the impression that the state requires instructors to charge a certain price for the class. I think Dreamer wanted to offer the NC CHP course for really cheap, but there was some discrepancy about cost. (Dreamer, correct me if I am mistaken).

    Most of the places around here charge anywhere from $85 to $105. That's the main reason I'm getting my non-res Florida permit. It'll save me a little bit of money and it's good for 7 years instead of 5. No 8 hour class either.
    Nope, the instructor sets the price for what they charge for the class.

  11. #11
    mattwestm
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by CarryHard View Post
    How can i get a non-res Florida permit?
    1) Request a a fingerprint card and application from Florida
    2) Take an NRA course (I took First Steps Pistol, but any will do)
    3) Get a passport photo
    4) Send forms and payment to Florida

    http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/weapons/index.html

  12. #12
    Regular Member FLEMTP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Charlotte, NC, USA
    Posts
    36

    Clarification neeeded

    I am a recent new NC resident from Florida. I need to clarify this. There is NO SUCH THING as a florida resident or non resident CWP. there is simply a florida CWP. They dont even put your address on the permit anymore. There is nothing on the permit denoted whether or not you're a resident of Florida or not.


    with that said... the process is very simple. takes no more than 90 days, and as of recently, permits are getting sent out usually within a month. I would request a signature delivery confirmation, seeing as how you're sending personal information via the US Mail. If you're going to be in florida anytime soon, you can really speed up the process by submitting your application personally to a Division of Licensing office, they do livescan prints right there..and start your application processing right there. People who have been doing that are getting their permits in about a week. Yes, a week!

    Hope this helps!

  13. #13
    Regular Member Ricky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Hickory, N.C.
    Posts
    134
    I paid $50.00 for my class here in Hickory..

  14. #14
    Regular Member Dreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Grennsboro NC
    Posts
    5,358
    Quote Originally Posted by mattwestm View Post
    I was under the impression that the state requires instructors to charge a certain price for the class. I think Dreamer wanted to offer the NC CHP course for really cheap, but there was some discrepancy about cost. (Dreamer, correct me if I am mistaken).

    I'm still working on getting my certifications all lined up, so I'm not yet qualified to offer such "deep discount" courses. Hopefully by the end of summer I will have everything in order, and can start offering NC CHP classes for a substantial discount to college students.

    All that said, there is no statute setting price for a NC CHP course. I have seen them offered for anywhere from $50-$120. I paid about $75 for mine.

    If anyone out there is considering taking a NC course, I would suggest that after you get your Certificate (but before you submit it with your CHP application packet) that you scan it to your computer, or make a BUNCH of xerox copies and file them somewhere safe. Having some sort of certificate is required for many other state's permits, and having copies of your NC certificate on-hand makes it easier. For instance, a FL, VA, or PA permit require that you send them a copy of your training certificate, and/or a copy of your home-state permit.

    I made a high-res scan and about a dozen copies of my NC CHP course cert, and have them in my safe, for just this situation.
    It is our cause to dispel the foggy thinking which avoids hard decisions in the delusion that a world of conflict will somehow mysteriously resolve itself into a world of harmony, if we just don't rock the boat or irritate the forces of aggression—and this is hogwash."
    --Barry Goldwater, 1964

  15. #15
    Regular Member WTFOVER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    WNC
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by Dreamer View Post
    I'm still working on getting my certifications all lined up, so I'm not yet qualified to offer such "deep discount" courses. Hopefully by the end of summer I will have everything in order, and can start offering NC CHP classes for a substantial discount to college students.
    This is what I do. If they are a student then I offer at a discounted rate.

    If anyone out there is considering taking a NC course, I would suggest that after you get your Certificate (but before you submit it with your CHP application packet) that you scan it to your computer, or make a BUNCH of xerox copies and file them somewhere safe. Having some sort of certificate is required for many other state's permits, and having copies of your NC certificate on-hand makes it easier. For instance, a FL, VA, or PA permit require that you send them a copy of your training certificate, and/or a copy of your home-state permit.

    I made a high-res scan and about a dozen copies of my NC CHP course cert, and have them in my safe, for just this situation.
    Not sure about how your SO does it, but here they just make a copy of the certificate and send the original back home witht the applicants. But none the less good information here.

  16. #16
    Regular Member Dreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Grennsboro NC
    Posts
    5,358
    Both Pitt County and Beaufort County keep your original certificate. My CHP instructor told us this, and suggested we copy or scan it before turning in the application packet.

    From reading the Statute, I was under the impression that keeping the original certificate was SOP in North Carolina...

    Most other states tell you to KEEP the original for your records, and send in a copy with your app--like PA, VA, WV, and even MD...
    It is our cause to dispel the foggy thinking which avoids hard decisions in the delusion that a world of conflict will somehow mysteriously resolve itself into a world of harmony, if we just don't rock the boat or irritate the forces of aggression—and this is hogwash."
    --Barry Goldwater, 1964

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Charlotte, North Carolina, , USA
    Posts
    96
    The ones that are expensive like the big stores charge more because of overhead. and some do because they can . I paid 60 in China Grove.

  18. #18
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Belmont, NC
    Posts
    184
    I got lucky. Mine was free. Armed security doesn't have to take the class. It's covered in our training.
    Walk softly and carry a large caliber.

  19. #19
    Regular Member CarryHard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by Carry24/7 View Post
    I got lucky. Mine was free. Armed security doesn't have to take the class. It's covered in our training.
    Cant afford it right now
    I've spent around 1,000 probably this month on gun stuff

  20. #20
    Regular Member Spearhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    150 miles South of Richmond
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by mattwestm View Post
    1) Request a a fingerprint card and application from Florida
    2) Take an NRA course (I took First Steps Pistol, but any will do)
    3) Get a passport photo
    4) Send forms and payment to Florida

    http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/weapons/index.html
    A military DD-214 will also do for #2. Maryland State Police offers an on-line handgun safety course free of charge and it takes about 30 minutes to complete. After you finish the course and pass the test, you can print out the certificate. I checked with the handgun permit section and the lady told me if the course was given by the state police it was certified as a valid course. http://www.mdgunsafety.com/
    "But a Constitution of Government once changed from Freedom, can never be restored. Liberty, once lost, is lost forever."
    -John Adams

  21. #21
    Regular Member Dreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Grennsboro NC
    Posts
    5,358
    Quote Originally Posted by Spearhead View Post
    Maryland State Police offers an on-line handgun safety course free of charge and it takes about 30 minutes to complete. After you finish the course and pass the test, you can print out the certificate. I checked with the handgun permit section and the lady told me if the course was given by the state police it was certified as a valid course. http://www.mdgunsafety.com/

    So let me get this straight...

    The MdSP has testified TWICE in the last 2 years before the MD General Assembly that they don't believe that "regular people" can be trusted to carry in MD, and ESPECIALLY people who have permits from other states. They have publically stated that it is the position of MSP that the permitting processed of EVERY OTHER STATE in the Union is so deficient, and that LEAs in EVERY OTHER STATE are so incompetent in their investigative techniques for performing background checks that there is no way they can be assured that CC permitees from other states meet "MD Standards", and that is why they are COMPLETELY against any sort of reciprocity.

    But the MSP has an ON LINE "gun safety course" that people can use to obtain a FL permit?

    Am I the only person who is sitting here holding my head, and screaming:

    WTF, MD?
    It is our cause to dispel the foggy thinking which avoids hard decisions in the delusion that a world of conflict will somehow mysteriously resolve itself into a world of harmony, if we just don't rock the boat or irritate the forces of aggression—and this is hogwash."
    --Barry Goldwater, 1964

  22. #22
    Regular Member Dreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Grennsboro NC
    Posts
    5,358
    And to add insult to injury they include this little note of exemptions, per MD Code:

    (h-1) Completion of certified firearms training course. - A person is not required to complete a certified firearms training course under subsection (h) (2) (ix) of this section and § 445 9b) (4) of this subheading if the person:
    (1) has completed a certified firearms training course required under subsection (h) (2) (ix) of this section and § 445 (b) (4) of this subheading;
    (2) Is a law enforcement officer of the State or any local law enforcement agency in the State;
    (3) Is a member, retired member, or honorably discharged member of the Amed Forces of the United States or the National guard;
    (4) Is a member of an organization that is required by federal law or regulations governing their specific business or activity to maintain handguns and applicable amunition; or
    (5) Has been issued a permit to carry a handgun under § 36E of this article.


    And if you dig deeper into MD Code, you will find that to obtain a MD PTCH, there is NO REQUIREMENT for an educational course in the law, OR a range qualification requirement. The only real requirement in MD, is that you meet at least 2 of the 3 "WWW" qualifications--Wealthy, White, Well-connected.

    MD gun policy absolutely defies rational thought...
    It is our cause to dispel the foggy thinking which avoids hard decisions in the delusion that a world of conflict will somehow mysteriously resolve itself into a world of harmony, if we just don't rock the boat or irritate the forces of aggression—and this is hogwash."
    --Barry Goldwater, 1964

  23. #23
    Regular Member moonie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    High Point NC
    Posts
    253
    Quote Originally Posted by Carry24/7 View Post
    I got lucky. Mine was free. Armed security doesn't have to take the class. It's covered in our training.
    I was armed security many years ago before they had CHP in this state. What did you have to do to get your CHP since you hadn't taken the CHP class?

  24. #24
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Belmont, NC
    Posts
    184
    Quote Originally Posted by moonie View Post
    I was armed security many years ago before they had CHP in this state. What did you have to do to get your CHP since you hadn't taken the CHP class?
    The class that was taught for armed security goes more indepth then the CHP class. Armed security have to pass the state quilification with 80% or better. After the class I went to the sheriff's office and they gave me a paper my company filled out saying I was still in good standings with the company. I took that paper back and showed them my current armed security card and they did my fingerprints and I pay the money for the permit. Didn't have to pay for the class.
    Walk softly and carry a large caliber.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •