• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Active Duty Military Member in Michigan trying to buy handgun

jacksonmj

I need some help I went in to a store locally and started to ask what I needed to do to buy a gun here in Michigan. I'm currently stationed in Michigan and I'm a legal resident of California and was informed that unless I change my legal residencey to Michigan I can't buy a gun. Is this right? I just can't see why I would be punished for serving my country to protect our rights that my rights are being taken away to buy a gun. Can anyone explain this to me. Thanks Mike Jackson US Navy Chief!

jacksonmj

That's what I thought

Thanks I thought that was the case because when I buy a fishing license in Michigan I'm concidered a legal resident as long as I'm station here on orders. Guess I might have to call the state police out here to get the right answer.

jacksonmj

Got my answer

State police did confirm that I'm able to buy a gun just have to pass a test and file for a permit. Thanks for the responses and glad to hear that I can it really pissed me off this morning when the guy just said no because I didn't have a michigan residencey.:

jm62383

I kinda went thru something liek that while I was stationed in Texas.