Thread: Question GFSZ

Question GFSZ

I live in Janesville. My Question is with the GFSZ. I go to smokers world a lot, on the corner of Milwaukee and Pontiac. The shopping center itself, I'm pretty sure is within the 1000 allowed feet of a school zone. Does this school zone include the parking lot of this shopping center? Or am I ok since it's private property? Or is the parking lot not private property? Any help would be great thanks!!

Carry On,
    Thomas

Private property is exempt from the GFSZ law. Be careful, though. Stepping onto a sidewalk for even a second puts you in violation. Some of the 'veterans' of OCDO will be able to answer your question in greater detail, and they're probably more articulate than I.

As always, my disclaimer: I am not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV.

School zone only affects public areas, so sidewalks and roadways. Private property is exempt.

I am curious though, if you live in a school zone and have a sidewalk, can you jump into the air, not touch the sidewalk to get to your mailbox, and not violate the GFSZ?
    No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms. Thomas Jefferson (1776)

If you go into a store, with a gun, and rob it, you have forfeited your right to not get shot - Joe Deters, Hamilton County (Cincinnati) Prosecutor

I ask sir, what is the militia? It is the whole people except for a few politicians. - George Mason (father of the Bill of Rights and The Virginia Declaration of Rights)

Quote Originally Posted by protias View Post
    School zone only affects public areas, so sidewalks and roadways. Private property is exempt.

I am curious though, if you live in a school zone and have a sidewalk, can you jump into the air, not touch the sidewalk to get to your mailbox, and not violate the GFSZ?