Here is the law that RESTRICTS the carry of LOADED weapons----
76-10-505. Carrying loaded firearm in vehicle or on street.
(1) Unless otherwise authorized by law, a person may not carry a loaded firearm:
(a) in or on a vehicle, unless:
(i) the vehicle is in the person's lawful possession; or
(ii) the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle;
(b) on a public street; or
(c) in a posted prohibited area.
(2) Subsection (1)(a) does not apply to a minor under 18 years of age, since a minor under 18 years of age may not carry a loaded firearm in or on a vehicle.
(3) Notwithstanding Subsection (1)(a)(i) and (ii), a person may not possess a loaded rifle, shotgun, or muzzle-loading rifle in a vehicle.
(4) A violation of this section is a class B misdemeanor.
Pay particular attention to (1)(b).... ON A PUBLIC STREET.
Also look closely at (1)(a)... it prohibits the carry of a loaded weapon in a vehicle UNLESS (1) you are authorized to possess the vehicle or (2) have the permission of the one authorized to possess the vehicle and (3) are 18 years or older.
(1)(c) refers to Secure portions of Airports, jails, mental hospitals, etc.
Now, IF you have a permit issued by ANY STATE IN THE US Utah will recognize it and you will not be restricted by the Unloaded law.
As a safety issue it is recommended to not load and unload the firearm as often as one may need to comply fully with this law.... Loaded in the house or on private property, unloaded on the public street, loaded in the vehicle, unloaded when crossing a public street to go to a store and then loaded while in the store.... BUT once you are in an area where you are NOT on a public street then you are good to go loaded. Know that UTAH considers a Temporary camp or tent sight as YOUR HOME and your are 100% legal to conceal or be fully loaded if you desire--- that is have a loaded firearm and or conceal at your home or in a vehicle.
Some officers MAY not fully understand this but we are working on them as situations happen. THANKFULLY, we haven't had as many issues (per my understanding and memory) on this area as some others AND Utah has not made laws similar to Kommifornias "e-Check" law which allows an officer to check a weapon to make sure it is unloaded WITHOUT ANY PROBABLE CAUSE or REASONABLE ARTICULABLE SUSPICION that a crime is about to happen, is happening, or has just happened.
Good luck on your anticipated trip and
IANAL, the preceding is MY OPINION ONLY and is not legal advice. FOR legal advice ALWAYS contact a COMPETENT LAWYER.
BTW, I have been OPEN CARRYING since June 2008 in UTAH, Arizona, Colorado, Wyoming, Idaho, and NEVADA and I have NEVER been disarmed by any one or had the condition of my weapon checked---- even during a traffic stop! I do have a Utah permit.