I will be visiting my family in the Odgen area over Memorial Day Weekend. We will be doing some horseback riding and trail hiking. In Colorado I usually carry my SP101 in an El Paso Saddlery Tanker Holster in the backcountry. Here in Colorado you can carry pretty much anywhere with a full cylinder, including Rocky Mountain National Park.
My recollection is that in Utah, without a carry permit, I must carry with two chambers empty (the chamber in line with the barrel and the next chamber). Does this sound right? It's also my understaind that I can carry the same revolver in my Jeep fully loaded while in Utah. Am I correct?
Looking foward to seeing home again. I grew up in Ogden.
Ok, I found some information in another thread that indicates I can openly carry a fully loaded revolver on the national forest, or in my Jeep. Unless anyone has a different opinion, I'm going with that.
Here is the information from the other thread (JoeSparky quote):
A couple of points here:
Here is the law that RESTRICTS the carry of LOADED weapons----
76-10-505. Carrying loaded firearm in vehicle or on street.
(1) Unless otherwise authorized by law, a person may not carry a loaded firearm:
(a) in or on a vehicle, unless:
(i) the vehicle is in the person's lawful possession; or
(ii) the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle;
(b) on a public street; or
(c) in a posted prohibited area.
(2) Subsection (1)(a) does not apply to a minor under 18 years of age, since a minor under 18 years of age may not carry a loaded firearm in or on a vehicle.
(3) Notwithstanding Subsection (1)(a)(i) and (ii), a person may not possess a loaded rifle, shotgun, or muzzle-loading rifle in a vehicle.
(4) A violation of this section is a class B misdemeanor.
Pay particular attention to (1)(b).... ON A PUBLIC STREET.
Also look closely at (1)(a)... it prohibits the carry of a loaded weapon in a vehicle UNLESS (1) you are authorized to possess the vehicle or (2) have the permission of the one authorized to possess the vehicle and (3) are 18 years or older.[/B]