• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

License

Burning Thunder

Howdy-

Forgive me for asking a stupid question, but I am EXTREMELY new to open carry.

I'm 18, and have loved guns all my life. Now...I know that you have to get a permit to concealed carry. Do I have to get a separate permit to open carry? Do I need a permit at all? Does a concealed carry permit cover both types of carries?

Thank you! (I know I am naive, but what can I do?!?!)

--BT

Ma}{imus

You MUST have a permit to open carry in Douglas County. There are several places that offer the class. If you have a CCW you can open carry in Douglas County without the open carry specific permit. Since you're not 21 though you won't be able to get a CCW unless you're active military.

Swyped from my LS670 using Tapatalk

Grapeshot

Legendary Warrior
You MUST have a permit to open carry in Douglas County. There are several places that offer the class. If you have a CCW you can open carry in Douglas County without the open carry specific permit. Since you're not 21 though you won't be able to get a CCW unless you're active military.

My understanding was that was in the city of Omaha, not Douglas County.

Ma}{imus