Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: GRNC Alert 6-1-11: HB 650 Passes House Judiciary C

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    173

    GRNC Alert 6-1-11: HB 650 Passes House Judiciary C

    Grass Roots North Carolina, P.O. Box 10665, Raleigh, NC 27605, 919-664-8565, www.GRNC.org

    GRNC Alert 6-1-11:
    HB 650 Passes House Judiciary C

    HB 650, the massive gun bill we have been telling you about is now passed in House Judiciary C Sub-Committee. We now need you to contact the full House list to express your support for this important bill.

    To recap:

    HB 650 is a huge and aggressive bill, meaning it will be difficult to pass. But if passed, it will go far toward reversing the creeping encroachment on gun owners' rights perpetuated in previous sessions of the legislature, including (but not limited to):

    * Castle Doctrine (yet another vehicle for popular Castle Doctrine is now moving);
    * Reducing penalties for carrying firearms on "educational property," including a protection against accidentally becoming a criminal by requiring that offenders "knowingly" brought the gun onto educational property;
    * Enabling concealed carry at events for which admission is charged;
    * Reducing penalties for a host of minor (often inadvertent) gun violations;
    * Adding protections for gun owners whose guns are confiscated pursuant to domestic protective orders;
    * Improves concealed handgun reciprocity to straight recognition of out-of-state permits;
    * Removes provisions for concealed handgun applicants under which sheriffs are conducting intrusive investigations of medical history; and
    * Enabling employees to keep guns in locked vehicles at places of employment.

    IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUIRED

    * CONTACT ALL MEMBERS of the NC House (copy and paste list below).

    DELIVER THIS MESSAGE

    Dear Representative:

    I am writing to urge your support of HB 650, "Amend Various Gun Laws." It is vital that this important bill become law. It will provide such needed measures as Castle Doctrine. It will provide for the defense needs of our citizens as well as providing important legal protections.

    I will be following the progress of this bill with great interest through the alerts of Grass Roots North Carolina.

    Sincerely,

    A Concerned North Carolina Voter

    CONTACT THESE LEGISLATORS

    Larry.Bell@ncleg.net, William.Brisson@ncleg.net, Garland.Pierce@ncleg.net, Ray.Rapp@ncleg.net, Winkie.Wilkins@ncleg.net, Michael.Wray@ncleg.net, Bill.Faison@ncleg.net, Rick.Glazier@ncleg.net, Frank.Iler@ncleg.net, Joe.Tolson@ncleg.net, Edith.Warren@ncleg.net, Bill.Cook@ncleg.net, Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net, Jean.Farmer-Butterfield@ncleg.net, Mike.Hager@ncleg.net, Dewey.Hill@ncleg.net, Carolyn.Justice@ncleg.net, James.Langdon@ncleg.net, Marvin.Lucas@ncleg.net, William.McGee@ncleg.net, Marian.McLawhorn@ncleg.net, Gaston.Pridgen@ncleg.net, William.Wainwright@ncleg.net, Harry.Warren@ncleg.net, Kelly.Alexander@ncleg.net, Marilyn.Avila@ncleg.net, Jeff.Barnhart@ncleg.net, Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net, John.Blust@ncleg.net, Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net, Glen.Bradley@ncleg.net, Bill.Brawley@ncleg.net, Larry.Brown@ncleg.net, Rayne.Brown@ncleg.net, Harold.Brubaker@ncleg.net, Justin.Burr@ncleg.net, George.Cleveland@ncleg.net, Jeff.Collins@ncleg.net, Jim.Crawford@ncleg.net, Bill.Current@ncleg.net, Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net, Jimmy.Dixon@ncleg.net, Jerry.Dockham@ncleg.net, Elmer.Floyd@ncleg.net, Dale.Folwell@ncleg.net, Phillip.Frye@ncleg.net, Mitch.Gillespie@ncleg.net, David.Guice@ncleg.net, Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net, Mark.Hilton@ncleg.net, Mark.Hollo@ncleg.net, Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net, Julia.Howard@ncleg.net, Pat.Hurley@ncleg.net, Dan.Ingle@ncleg.net, Linda.Johnson2@ncleg.net, Bert.Jones@ncleg.net, Jonathan.Jordan@ncleg.net, Ric.Killian@ncleg.net, Stephen.LaRoque@ncleg.net, David.Lewis@ncleg.net, Danny.McComas@ncleg.net, Darrell.McCormick@ncleg.net, Pat.McElraft@ncleg.net, Grey.Mills@ncleg.net, Tim.Moffitt@ncleg.net, Tim.Moore@ncleg.net, Bill.Owens@ncleg.net, Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net, Efton.Sager@ncleg.net, Ruth.Samuelson@ncleg.net, Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net, Mitchell.Setzer@ncleg.net, Tim.Spear@ncleg.net, Paul.Stam@ncleg.net, Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net, Fred.Steen@ncleg.net, Sarah.Stevens@ncleg.net, Michael.Stone@ncleg.net, Thom.Tillis@ncleg.net, Roger.West@ncleg.net, Marcus.Brandon@ncleg.net, John.Faircloth@ncleg.net, Ken.Goodman@ncleg.net, Charles.Graham@ncleg.net, Susi.Hamilton@ncleg.net, Craig.Horn@ncleg.net, Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net, Frank.McGuirt@ncleg.net, Rodney.Moore@ncleg.net, Tom.Murry@ncleg.net, Phil.Shepard@ncleg.net, John.Torbett@ncleg.net

    ----------------------
    Contribute to the cause! Give generously to protect your rights.

    http://grnc.org/join_grnc/contribute.htm

    ----------------------
    You may find your NC STATE representative by going here:
    http://www.grnc.org/contact_reps.htm

    You may write your FEDERAL congressman by going here:
    http://www.house.gov/writerep/

    You may write your FEDERAL senators by going here:
    http://www.senate.gov/
    -------------------
    Support these PRO RKBA merchants who, as GRNC sponsors, are supporting your Second Amendment rights:

    Hyatt Gun Shop, 3332 Wilkinson Blvd., Charlotte, NC 28208, 704-394-0387, www.hyattguns.com
    C & E Gun Shows, 4225 Fortress Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060; Phone 540-953-0016 or 888-715-0606; http://www.cegunshows.com/
    Dixie Gun and Knife Shows, PO Box 21049, Raleigh, NC 27619, ph: 919-781-1287, www.dixiegunandknifeshow.com/
    Ryan & Nina Leonard, Down South Ammo, Home of "SOUTHERN THUNDER" Exploding Targets, http://downsouthammo.com/
    Duncan Gun & Pawn, 414 Second St., North Wilkesboro, NC 28659, 336-667-6303, www.duncangun.com
    Shooter's Express, 2 Caldwell Dr., Belmont, NC 28012, 800-358-GUNS, www.shootersexpress.com
    The Aisle Pawn Shop, 216 N. Main St., Mooresville, NC 28115, 704-663-5656
    Gunner's Alley, LLC, 203 N. Harrison Ave., Ste. 130, Cary, NC 27513, www.gunnersalley.com, 919-388-1991, contact: Ed Guerriero, ed@gunnersalley.com
    Patrick J. Phelan, Lake Norman Firearms, Inc., 20823 N. Main Street, Cornelius, NC 28031, www.lknfirearms.com, 704-892-7839
    Vanguard Security Consulting, LLC, 19135 W. Catawba Ave, Cornelius, NC 28031
    DoubleD Media, 8300 Raintree Lane, Charlotte, NC 28277, ph: 704-650-5555, fx: 704-544-0326, donna@doubledme.com

  2. #2
    Regular Member Sahib0120's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Weaverville, NC
    Posts
    45
    E-mails sent

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Conover
    Posts
    237
    Sent....

  4. #4
    Regular Member Maverick9110e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    224
    Sent!

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    9
    sent

  6. #6
    Regular Member Snaquebite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Raeford
    Posts
    8
    Done

  7. #7
    Regular Member Maverick9110e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    224
    Got 1 Response. I'm sure this means they don't support it, they just don't want to say it:



    Thank you for your email. We are always glad to hear the opinions and concerns of our constituents. Representative McComas wanted me to let you know that he is currently researching HB 650 and will take your email into account as he reviews the bill.

    Thank you again for contacting us. If we can ever be of service, please do not hesitate to call our office.

    Brandon Smith
    Legislative Intern
    Office of Representative Daniel McComas
    Last edited by Maverick9110e; 06-02-2011 at 01:15 PM.

  8. #8
    Regular Member EricDailey X-NRA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Wake County, NC
    Posts
    209

    Time to Pile On

    Email is great to reach folks.
    There are other 2A groups online for posting.
    I've put this on my FB.
    I will print a copy and post it in 2A friendly shops.
    I will hand it out while OC'ing.
    Put some copies in your car and hand them out anywhere in NC.


    We are many they are few.
    Get a DVR, a Digital Voice Recorder, carry it 24/7. It's cheap, easy and makes a good witness in Court.

    Triangle Open Carry Meetup
    http://www.meetup.com/r/inbound/0/0/...ry/?a=sharetxt
    This is a link for a "gunz r welcome" sign.
    http://www.gunlaws.com/images/unity.gif
    FORUM RULES (14)
    ....This web site is focused on the right to openly carry properly holstered handguns in daily American life.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Snaquebite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Raeford
    Posts
    8
    Got 2 auto responses similar to the above an this one.....

    I agree with you 100% and will vote for HB 650.
    Thank you for writing.
    Would you like to be on my email list?

    Sincerely,
    Speaker Pro Tem Dale Folwell

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    9
    Got this in response
    Thank you again for your email. Please be assured that as a CCW holder, I intend to remain supportive of 2nd Amendment Rights throughout all steps of this bill.

    I will be voting to support H650 at each step, right up to the final vote on 3rd reading on the House floor.
    Regards,

    Jonathan
    Rep. Jonathan C. Jordan
    93rd District Deputy Majority Whip
    Office 418C
    Phone: (919) 733-7727
    Email: jonathan.jordan@ncleg.net

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •