Welcome Mickloy! The Virginia Citizen's Defense League (VCDL) provides a decent summary of places you can and cannot legally carry while in Virginia.
The document needs some updating as OC in state parks is now just fine without a CHP. While in your car you may keep your firearm in compliance concealed within the limits of the statute you just mentioned or you may keep it carried openly, preferably on your belt, provided you keep it openly borne (don't put your shirt, jacket, sweater.... over it). Some folks keep theirs in a holster on a seat or even use passenger seat belts with a holster on it, depending on how they feel like keeping it.
Virginia law makes no differentiation on where you carry your handgun with regard to places serving alcohol, unlike Florida and some other states. You can OC into restaurants and bars (we technically have no bars because they have to sell some food, but some places definitely aren't there to be restaurants if you understand that); however, the property management and staff can tell you that you may not carry and you must abide by their rules just like anywhere else. If that happens take your business elsewhere.
If you're going to be OCing (which you will) get yourself a decent little digital voice recorder and keep it recording at all times while OCing in case you run into troubles with police who try to be abusive. This doesn't happen very regularly here, but it happens with enough frequencey to take precautions. Something like this will do the trick and should be available in your Walmart for $30 - $40. Various other manufacturers make good ones too.
You can keep it in a shirt pocket or around your neck hidden from view, or probably a dozen other ways too.