Thread: OCing in a vehicle

Fort Carson

OCing in a vehicle

Question, I am a Michigan Resident but I am Active Duty in Colorado for the time being, I bought a Glock 22 while out here and I was wondering what do I have to do, to make it legal in MI? Also, are you not aloud to OC in your vehicle at all without a CPL?

Anti-Saldana Freedom Fighter Venator's Avatar
    Lansing area, Michigan, USA
    Start with the stickies.

I'm not sure if there is an exemption for active military, if not this applies.

If you are a legal Michigan resident, you must get a purchase permit and register your handgun here (MI). You can than legally possess the handgun for all lawful purposes. In Michigan if you do not have a CPL you must transport your handgun unloaded, in a case in the trunk. When you get to your destination you may then load your handgun and OC in all lawful places. You CAN NOT posses a handgun without a CPL in these places listed in 750.234d unless you are the owner or you have permission from the owner. Premises include parking lots.

750.234d Possession of firearm on certain premises prohibited; applicability; violation as
    misdemeanor; penalty.
    Sec. 234d. (1) Except as provided in subsection (2), a person shall not possess a firearm on the premises of
    any of the following:
    (a) A depository financial institution or a subsidiary or affiliate of a depository financial institution.
    (b) A church or other house of religious worship.
    (c) A court.
    (d) A theatre.
    (e) A sports arena.
    (f) A day care center.
    (g) A hospital.
    (h) An establishment licensed under the Michigan liquor control act, Act No. 8 of the Public Acts of the
    Extra Session of 1933, being sections 436.1 to 436.58 of the Michigan Compiled Laws.
    (2) This section does not apply to any of the following:
    (a) A person who owns, or is employed by or contracted by, an entity described in subsection (1) if the