Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello All

Hello All

My name is Reed Kotake. I am brand new to these forums and just thought i would introduce myself. I am fairly new to the OC community and I have had my CCW for a little less than a year. Having moved from Hawaii (where you have to jump through flaming hoops to even OWN a gun) to Independence MO I am on a fairly steep learning curve. Cant wait to meet all of you out here and thanks ahead of time for a very informative site!

Aloha Bruddah, welcome to OCDO and Missouri for that matter. I'm just south of you in Lee's Summit.
    What part of Hawaii are you from?
    My wife is from Oahu, we spend a lot of time there. I did have quite a few questions regarding their CCW policies. We'll have to chat sometime.
    Tiocfaidh Ar La

Howzit Chiang! it's such a small world! Us Hawaii people are everywhere! lol Nice to "meet" you. I was born and raised in Kaimuki. As for the CCW position of the state of Hawaii, they are a "May Issue" state. As far as i know every single police chief since the late 70's has said something along the lines of "we are a MAY issue state at my discretion and i refuse to issue CCW to anyone". That's my paraphrase of course. I am sure there are some exceptions but for the most part they are exceptions over the rule.
    Last edited by Ballistic Penguin; 07-18-2011 at 06:50 PM.

Kaimuki, thats just down the road! We stay off of Kapiolani BLVD., Moiliili.

Thats too bad about the ccw laws. I wonder if they would issue if you held a POST Cert. from another state.
    Tiocfaidh Ar La

MAYBE, however i do know that HPD is NOT a POST affiliated department. you probably could apply through the dept for a ccw though. I know off duty officers are allowed to carry. Not sure about the out of state thing. How often do you go back?

Quote Originally Posted by Ballistic Penguin View Post