• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Hello All

Ballistic Penguin

My name is Reed Kotake. I am brand new to these forums and just thought i would introduce myself. I am fairly new to the OC community and I have had my CCW for a little less than a year. Having moved from Hawaii (where you have to jump through flaming hoops to even OWN a gun) to Independence MO I am on a fairly steep learning curve. Cant wait to meet all of you out here and thanks ahead of time for a very informative site!

ChiangShih

Aloha Bruddah, welcome to OCDO and Missouri for that matter. I'm just south of you in Lee's Summit.
What part of Hawaii are you from?
My wife is from Oahu, we spend a lot of time there. I did have quite a few questions regarding their CCW policies. We'll have to chat sometime.

Ballistic Penguin

Howzit Chiang! it's such a small world! Us Hawaii people are everywhere! lol Nice to "meet" you. I was born and raised in Kaimuki. As for the CCW position of the state of Hawaii, they are a "May Issue" state. As far as i know every single police chief since the late 70's has said something along the lines of "we are a MAY issue state at my discretion and i refuse to issue CCW to anyone". That's my paraphrase of course. I am sure there are some exceptions but for the most part they are exceptions over the rule.