Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Detnews article mentions OC license

  1. #1
    Regular Member detroit_fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Monroe, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    1,196

    Thumbs down Detnews article mentions OC license

    http://www.detnews.com/article/20110...RO01/108280346

    snip

    In order to obtain an open-carry license, a person must be 18 years old, be on foot and have the handgun registered to themselves.

    In some situations, a person may not be allowed to carry a gun.





    edit- Also, whats the deal with putting quotation marks around the words Law-abiding in the title
    Last edited by detroit_fan; 08-29-2011 at 04:16 PM.

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Davisburg, Michigan, United States
    Posts
    8,948
    The LTP is the OC license.

    You should ask them about the quotation marks, that was rude.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Centurion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    metro detroit
    Posts
    41
    Yes - the writer was clueless and I think he confused what Rick was telling him that the PP serves as the License to OC a pistol registered in the OCers name.

    On the flip sode fox2 did a pretty good story I'm told.

  4. #4
    Michigan Moderator DrTodd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Hudsonville , Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,337
    Quote Originally Posted by Centurion View Post
    Yes - the writer was clueless and I think he confused what Rick was telling him that the PP serves as the License to OC a pistol registered in the OCers name.
    Probably
    Giving up our liberties for safety is the one sure way to let the violent among us win.

    "Though defensive violence will always be a 'sad necessity' in the eyes of men of principle, it would be still more unfortunate if wrongdoers should dominate just men." -Saint Augustine

    Disclaimer I am not a lawyer! Please do not consider anything you read from me to be legal advice.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    343
    The LTP is only good for 30 days, after which you no longer need to have it with the weapon, and can throw it away.

    Does it still count as a license?

  6. #6
    Regular Member PDinDetroit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SE, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    2,336
    Quote Originally Posted by xd shooter View Post
    The LTP is only good for 30 days, after which you no longer need to have it with the weapon, and can throw it away.

    Does it still count as a license?
    It only needs to be kept for 30 days, it does not expire after 30 days...

    The licensee may carry, use, possess, and transport the pistol for 30 days beginning on the date of purchase or acquisition only while he or she is in possession of his or her copy of the license. However, the person is not required to have the license in his or her possession while carrying, using, possessing, or transporting the pistol after this period.
    http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-28-422

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •