Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A tale of OC'ing in portsmouth :banghead:

A tale of OC'ing in portsmouth :banghead:

hi, all. my first post, so take it easy on the OC.org newbie

i'll lead off with this;

i was confronted at the dollar general in Cradock last week with my wife and kids. the cashier lady was upset that i was open-carrying in the store. i was walking up to the checkout stand with my items when she stopped me in the aisle.
    she asked me if i was a cop. i said 'no', and then she said that me having that gun in her store bothered her and made her uncomfortable and that she wanted me to leave.
    i asked her if she knew what the DG store policy was on firearms or if there was a sign on the store front permitting firearms. she shrugged her shoulders and then went to look on the store front windows for a sign. ... there was no sign.
    i tried to convince her to the opposite of her opinion while my wife paid for the items, but it was pointless.
    i asked her if she knew of the second amendment and if she knew of VA's gun policy. i even showed her my CWP and photo ID but all my efforts were fruitless. her closed-mindedness and unwillingness to even listen was very frustrating.
    my final statement to her was that i questioned her sanity.

my wife was upset with me that i made such a 'big deal' about it. basically it was an uncomfortable situation for her to watch and be involved in. what she was most upset about was that i vented to her about it right after we left.