Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to VA

Question New to VA

I am new to VA and I have some questions regarding OC. As I am quite new to a state with OC capabilities I just want to cover my basis. I cant seem to find a good "this is allowed, this isnt" kind of thing. I stumbles across this forum so I thought Id asked here...

1) I am able to have a firearm fully loaded while OC (this includes one up the pipe)?
    2) is there a restriction as to how much my barrel can extend from the holster?
    3) what are some general "dont carry places" while OC
    4) just the verufy that NO permit is required in anyway shapre or form to OC

Quote Originally Posted by sysadmin View Post
    I am new to VA and I have some questions regarding OC. As I am quite new to a state with OC capabilities I just want to cover my basis. I cant seem to find a good "this is allowed, this isnt" kind of thing. I stumbles across this forum so I thought Id asked here...

1) I am able to have a firearm fully loaded while OC (this includes one up the pipe)?
    3) what are some general "dont carry places" while OC
    Welcome to Virginia!!! Welcome to OCDO!!!! Stick around and you will learn a lot!!!

As for your questions:

1. Yes
    2. No
    3:

July 7, 2011 – June 30, 2012
    Places where carry is prohibited in Virginia
    NOTE: In most locations where concealed carry (CC) is prohibited, open carry (OC) is also prohibited.
    Federal facilities(buildings) (18USC930)
    Many federal agency lands (various federal regs, e.g., USPS,
    but not National Parks)
    National Forests: OC prohibited except where hunting is
    allowed (4VAC15-40-60)
    General Assembly Buildings except for CHP holders (Joint
    Rules Committee rule)
    Hog Island Wildlife Management Area (4VAC15-40-120)
    VirginiaCommonwealthUniversity (8VAC90-10-50)
    GeorgeMasonUniversitybuildings (8VAC35-60-20)
    Courthouses (18.2-283.1)
    DetentionFacilities (15.2-915)