Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Nov 1, Open carry in car?

Nov 1, Open carry in car?

I'm a WI resident, I can apply for a license nov 1, but won't get it until December sometime (hopefully). I just read the section in the DOJ FAQ about carrying in a car, i think it states that you can open carry in a car without a permit. Is anyone else reading the same thing? I'll probably just OC until I get my permit. The big reason I don't OC regularly now is the hassle of loading/unloading when hitting the car.

If I do not have a CCW license how do I transport weapons in a vehicle?
    A. Handguns
    The law now allows a person to do the following without a CCW permit:
    • place, possess, or transport a handgun in a vehicle without being unloaded or encased. Wis. Stats. § 167.31(2)(b).
    • load a handgun in a vehicle. Wis. Stats. § 167.31(2)(c).
    • operate an all-terrain vehicle (ATV) with a handgun in the operator’s possession. Wis. Stat. § 23.33(3)(a).
    • place, possess, or transport a handgun in or on a motorboat with the motor running without being unloaded or encased. Wis. Stats. § 167.31(2)(a), (b), (c).
    • place, possess, or transport a handgun in or on a noncommercial aircraft.
    IMPORTANT NOTE: Persons who do not have a CCW license may still not carry weapons concealed. In a vehicle this means that the firearm cannot be hidden or concealed and within reach.

After Nov 1, you will be able to carry a loaded handgun in a vehicle (watch out for the GFSZ though).
    No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms. Thomas Jefferson (1776)

If you go into a store, with a gun, and rob it, you have forfeited your right to not get shot - Joe Deters, Hamilton County (Cincinnati) Prosecutor

I ask sir, what is the militia? It is the whole people except for a few politicians. - George Mason (father of the Bill of Rights and The Virginia Declaration of Rights)