Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Open carry in ohio, is carrying a loaded handgun in ohio legal for open carry

Smile Open carry in ohio, is carrying a loaded handgun in ohio legal for open carry

Im 19 and have 2 handguns i am wondering if it is legal in the state of ohio to open carry a loaded firearm or not im new to this open carry if it werent for a ccw holder i wouldnt even know that open carry is legal any help would be much appreciated

Founder's Club Member - Moderator Grapeshot's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Daniel M. View Post
    Im 19 and have 2 handguns i am wondering if it is legal in the state of ohio to open carry a loaded firearm or not im new to this open carry if it werent for a ccw holder i wouldnt even know that open carry is legal any help would be much appreciated
    Welcome to OCDO Daniel.

Yep. it's legal.

Careful to not OC in a vehicle though - that won't be legal for you.
    http://www.opencarry.org/oh.html
    Old and treacherous will beat young and skilled every time.

Yata hey

ok thanks so much grapeshot

Quote Originally Posted by Daniel M. View Post

although i am new here and came to find out the answer to the same question that you asked and have found out that it is legal to open carry in ohio, i do know that it is ILLEGAL to own a handgun for any person under the age of 21 in the state of ohio. so i wouldnt recommend carrying those pistols on you sir.

Well,,,

Quote Originally Posted by jondjames View Post
    although i am new here and came to find out the answer to the same question that you asked and have found out that it is legal to open carry in ohio, i do know that it is ILLEGAL to own a handgun for any person under the age of 21 in the state of ohio. so i wouldnt recommend carrying those pistols on you sir.
    You still have much to learn!!
    In Ohio you can OC at 18!!
    There must be a legal for an 18yo to have a gun,
    probably through a private sale.