Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Traffic Stop Success

Traffic Stop Success

I am a firefighter in Southwest Missouri and also an OCer. The only time I do not OC is when on a call.( Fire = Heat + Bullets = not a good thing ) Today while driving through town I was stopped for a turn signal violation. What happend next what priceless.

Officer: Can I take a look at your ID
    Me: Yes sir but before we go any further I wanted to let you know that I do have a loaded firearm on my hip
    Officer: That's fine your a firefighter I trust you

Now I strive for trust as a firefighter but when it's a city officer and some guy he doesn't know that has a firearm it was priceless.

Officer didn't take the weapon or anything just continued as nothing was different !! It was kinda nice to know that an officer trusted me like that!!

Quote Originally Posted by Firefighter524 View Post
    Officer didn't take the weapon or anything just continued as nothing was different !! It was kinda nice to know that an officer trusted me like that!!
    As a former Firefighter I can tell you he was probably thinking that you were on the same team...I.E. Fire, Police, Ambulance as they all drive fast with flashing lights.

Or he could have been worried that if he harrassed you to much and his house caught fire that you would let it burn....lol

LOL how many people on here are from the southwest missouri area ??

Not to be a downer, but you really should just refrain from telling an officer that you are carrying. There have been documented incidents where someone has said something similar to what you did, and then they were dragged out of the car and harassed, along with their weapon taken. I used to think the same way until I saw it on video, now I would never tell them unless they saw it and asked.

Quote Originally Posted by chakragod View Post