Thread: conceal coarse

conceal coarse

hi everyone, i was thinking about getting my cc permit, but can someone tell me about the class? is it hard, what can i expect,etc? please share with me, im nervous about it. also,is the test tricky?

it all depends on where you take it. bare minimum is 8hrs of class time learning the laws and about shoot/dont shoot scenarios. then a shooting practical the consists of 30rnds. 10 a 3yrds, 5yrds, 7yrds. passing is hitting the target 21 out of 30

In all honestly I've learned more about NC gun laws reading this forum then I did in class.

like i said, the bare minimum, I've heard of courses taking 2-3 days where its all interactive and you shoot hundreds of rnds in many type of positions. Its all about what you want and need in your class.

I was a SAMI instructor in the military, I generally know what I'm doing and have plenty of experience with firearms, the class for me was merely a means to an end. I paid $50 and had my certificate in 8 hrs. If you want more in depth training, thats fine, its whatever you want
    Last edited by aosailor; 10-17-2011 at 08:18 PM.

Occupied Greensboro, North Carolina, United States

Don't sweat it.

The way most places in NC teach the class, its almost impossible to fail. You'd have to sleep through the instruction, and then do the hands-on shooting while blindfolded. The shooting requirement for the state is to shoot 50 rounds at a silhouette target at 7 yards, maintaining 80% accuracy (40 rounds) inside the outermost ring. This is not timed, and can be completed using any handgun in the caliber of your choice. My wife, who is far from being a great shooter, was able to do this on her first attempt, and she had probably only shot twice before in her life (only once any recent time before qualifying).

Quote Originally Posted by aosailor View Post