• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

check me if im wrong but...

Billy D

New to the forum, new to carrying, new to CPL, hell im new to the USA, but doesnt the wording of the US constitutions 2nd amendment allow for carrying a LOADED pistol (rifle, shotgun) in California? I think the mere fact that the law in Cali says you have to keep your pistol unloaded is an INFRINGEment to the US Constitution.
Also, having to go to a course, BUY and PAY for a CPL or CCW permit also infringes my RIGHT to keep and bear arms. Emphasis on the word Infringment.
Your thoughts?

SovereignAxe

The Constitution doesn't make the distinction, which is why the CA courts decided that they weren't infringing upon that right since unloaded OC was legal.

However, one could argue that carrying an unloaded pistol is akin to carrying a paperweight, and is therefore not armed until the ammo is in the firearm. Good luck arguing that in court though.

skidmark

Campaign Veteran
First off - Billy D, welcome to OCDO and the USA.