Thread: Open Carry at Oakland University Campus During Debates

NT

NT
    Last edited by azo313; 04-28-2014 at 10:10 PM.

Note: I'm not going *inside* the debate building. I don't have a ticket to enter. I'm just talking about standing outside the buildings where there will be plenty of people holding yard signs and probably tons of security as well.

In Michigan Public Colleges and Universities have their own police forces and their local ordinances are not preempted. I believe (haven't looked) Oakland U has an ordinance banning guns. Open Carry there and you should expect big legal problems. I'd advise against it.

That being said, I am the Lansing Regional coordinator for the Ron Paul campaign and will be there -- without my gun.
    Call for a cop, call for an ambulance, and call for a pizza. See who shows up first.

I am not a lawyer (merely an omnipotent member of a continuum). The contents of this post are not a substitute for sound legal advice from a licensed attorney in your jurisdiction.

Comments and views stated in my post are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of Michigan Open Carry, Inc. unless stated otherwise in the post.

You mean their local university ordinances can override state law? My understanding was that only classrooms and dormitories are pistol free zones.

From OU's Website: