Thread: Questions about open carrying

Questions about open carrying

I'm new to open carrying/even carrying a firearm at all so please deal with some of my nonsense and creating another one of these threads. After being suggested I carry a handgun from my brother and some of the guys at the fire department I volunteer at, I figured I would get one and will be getting it around 10 days from now (got to love black friday making stores sell out) and plan on open carrying it until I turn 21 and can get a CHP so I just wanted to verify everything before I get it and start carrying it. I just turned 20 and am worried about all of the laws. I know the legal age to open carry is 18 so that I'm not too worried about, but what do I say if I get asked questions from a police officer? Would it be a good idea to carry a "cheat sheet" of laws with me? Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
    Last edited by Alpengeist; 11-26-2011 at 01:18 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Alpengeist View Post
    snip
    I just educated a guy about this today while working at Dicks. You can search on this site about where you cannot carry (k-12 schools, courthouses, post office, etc). You can carry a cheat sheet if you would like until you are 100% familiar with the law. If an officer asks you about your sidearm, you can just continue on your way unless he is detaining you, which he will be required to have probable cause and such.

If you are over 18, you can purchase a firearm directly from a private (non FFL) seller.
    Words of advise:
    -Prepare yourself for the anti-crowd, though we dont have much issues here in the east with that, it still exists.
    -Always be on your best and kindest behavior...we have an image to keep up as we fight the bad vibes induced by the media.
    -know when to leave (when you have been asked by the owner of property)
    -Dress appropriately....thug attire as well as matrix wanna-be is not good image.