• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

appeal

chunk

Hi, I'm new to this & haven't done the forum thing in a while.

I decided a couple months ago its time to own a gun. They were holding a gun show at the expo center so I figured what better place to purchase a firearm. I get denied. I wait & call and find out why I got denied, its because I got into a fight with my older brother over 10 years ago (i was 15) and I was sent to a mental facility for like 5 days after a good ol' hospital stay. I've never been arrested, never had a ticket (that wasn't dismissed(no insurance)). I don't understand how this bears any weight on whether or not I am entitled to owning a gun, but it does. Please, if you can give me some insight, a phone number or path to take in attempts to appeal this I would be grateful. Thanks.

CharleyCherokee

It may be that the charge was domestic violence. If that is the case then that would be why you are having troubles. I don't know which state you are in or anything, but it may be possible to get the conviction expunged since you were a minor.

thebigsd

Founder's Club Member
Welcome to OCDO!!!! Stick around and tou will learn a lot!!! I would recommend that you update your profile to show your state so that folks can give more specific answers.