Thread: Open Carry Climate in Arlington

Pittsburgh, PA

Open Carry Climate in Arlington

Hi, this is my first post on

I am a student at Carnegie Mellon University. I am graduating in a few weeks and have accepted a position in Arlington. I will be moving down there within a month, and I was wondering if anyone has ever OC'ed in the city.

I am a member on PAFOA (a PA forum) and have OC'ed about 4 times in Pittsburgh without any negative encounters. However, the vibe I got from Arlington is that everything is sort of upscale and I have a feeling that the population might be quite liberal since it is so close to DC.

Does anyone have any OC stories about Arlington or about what the climate is like for OC there? Also, are there any local restrictions that I should be aware of? (I think I read something about a magazine capacity restriction in Arlington County.)

Moderator / Administrator Grapeshot's Avatar
    N. Chesterfield, Va.
    Welcome to OCDO and Virginia.

Plenty of OCers in and around Arlington. All in all the Arlington area is an interesting and friendly place to live, though the conservative values are more dominate the further south you go.

Virginia localities are preempted by state law regarding firearms.

For stories/experiences about that area go to:

The magazine restriction that applies is more than 20 rds is illegal if you do not have a permit in larger metropolitan areas - they are specified.

Sign up for the free Va-Alerts and do consider joining VCDL, the premier supporter of RKBA and self-defense in Virginia - "Defending Your Right To Defend Yourself"
    You will not rise to the occasion; you will fall back on your level of training. Archilochus, 650 BC

Old and treacherous will beat young and skilled every time. Yata hey.

Location, Richmond, Va., , USA
    Welcome aboard! I spend some time on PAFOA myself.

Please let me know if I can assist you with any training needs.
    James Reynolds