Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Carry in Portage Police Station Illegal?

Carry in Portage Police Station Illegal?

Went to the Portage Police station to get a license to purchase, possess, carry, or transport a pistol. Went up to the counter and was helped by Officer DuMont. Gave him my license to get the license. Two officers came out of the bathroom and noticed my pistol but did not say anything. The officers went into the back part where Officer DuMont was and they began talking where I could not seem them. I hear "CCW" a bunch of times then "Well I'm not sure". Officer DuMont came around the wall and asked if I was an officer. I said no. He then told me I could not OC there because there is an "open court" upstairs and I would need to secure my weapon in my vehicle and this was not to the time to try to voice my opinion on it. I asked for his name and then proceeded to my vehicle and secure my gun there

Now people will probably chastise me for doing what the officer said but I did not realize about the court upstairs and I do believe that there is somewhere in Lansing where one place isn't a PFZ but because there is a court attached the people are calling the whole building a court?????? I didn't want to risk it. If I would have been in the park across the street or somewhere like Steak n Shake I would not have complied. So am I pretty much prohibited from carrying there or as the officer just full of it?

EDIT: There are no signs at the door stating weapons are prohibited or anything.
    Last edited by xmanhockey7; 12-22-2011 at 01:02 PM.
    "No state shall convert a liberty to a privilege, license it, and charge a fee therefor.- Murdock vs Pennsylvania 319 US 105

...If the state converts a right into a privelege, the citizen can ignore the license and fee and engage in the right... with impunity.
    - Shuttleworth vs City of Birmingham, Alabama 317 US 262