Thread: Gifting a gun from TX to CA

Gifting a gun from TX to CA

I would like to give my father in law a shotgun for Xmas. I am a TX resident and he lives in CA. I am here on vacation and have it with me so shipping is not an issue. What is the correct LEGAL way to do so? Can we just find a FFL and pay the fee?

Thanks.

yep, The FFL will hold it in firearm jail for 10 days, dad will have to submit for DROS and then good to go.

As long as it is a legal shotgun for CA

Quote Originally Posted by Iopencarry View Post
    yep, The FFL will hold it in firearm jail for 10 days, dad will have to submit for DROS and then good to go.

As long as it is a legal shotgun for CA

It's just an old Remington pump. can any FFL do it or do I need to track down someone specialized. I'm in San Diego.

any FFL should do it

Quote Originally Posted by jecsd1 View Post
    It's just an old Remington pump. can any FFL do it or do I need to track down someone specialized. I'm in San Diego.
    If its older than 50 years old, or on the C&R list already, you can just give it to him....legally.

Quote Originally Posted by camsoup View Post
    If its older than 50 years old, or on the C&R list already, you can just give it to him....legally.
    No such luck. It's only about 10 yrs old. Recommend a good FFL in San Diego? Does big 5 still do them?

No such luck. It's only about 10 yrs old. Recommend a good FFL in San Diego? Does big 5 still do them?
    Gusslers in Santee is a "kitchen table" ffl. I used him a few times.

Sent from behind enemy lines using a Commodore 64.
    "If I don't have my pistol, I feel sort of naked." -Unosuke Gunfighter in the movie Yojimbo

all depends what part of San Diego, Discount Gun Mart on Morena blvd, is what I usually used, otherwise there is one up by kearny mesa area cant remember the name of it though. Im not sure about Big5?

Quote Originally Posted by tim12232 View Post