Thread: Open carry in Phenix City Al

Open carry in Phenix City Al

I visited the kangaroo earlier today, the one where Phenix City's finest like to hang out... I tried to pump fuel, but my card would not work at the pump, so I headed inside to pay cash... With G23 on my hip where it usually is, but in plain view because I had taken my jacket off in the car. After my business in the store was completed, I returned to my car. As I was reaching for the pump to fuel my vehicle, a black policeman with a gold toothe grin yelled at me across the parking lot. "Sir.. Sir..SIR!!" I said "yes?" "Are you a law enforcement officer?" "No", I replied. "Come over here away from the vehicle." he began to explain that I was breaking the law by having a weapon in plain view, and why that it was illegal. I gave him my Handgun Carry Permit and explained that I was a resident of Tennesse and that my understanding of the law was that Alabama was an "open carry" freindly state. He proceded to tell me that I could not carry openly, not even in my car, that it had to be concealed at all times outside my residence or place of business. He told me that he did not percieve me to be a threat, or that he would have drawn his weapon and it "would have got ugly quick". He did let us go on our way after running my driver liscense, HCP, and liscence plate. Anyway, just thought that I would share that with the forum, and I would like to hear everyones feedback. thanks

Moderator / Administrator Grapeshot's Avatar
    Trust that you got the officer's name etc - would follow through with an official complaint.

Quite a few wrongs here.
    You will not rise to the occasion; you will fall back on your level of training.” Archilochus, 650 BC

Old and treacherous will beat young and skilled every time. Yata hey.

Nah. he had his jacket zipped up, couldnt see his nametag. I was afraid to ask for fear of escalating the situation.

http://www.handgunlaw.us/documents/a...OOpenCarry.pdf