Thread: NRA prohibits on-line certification. OCDO-VA "Online CHP Course Declined ..."

Herr Heckler Koch

NRA prohibits on-line certification. OCDO-VA "Online CHP Course Declined ..."

Tail wagging the dog?

Quote Originally Posted by user View Post
    As an NRA certified instructor, I recently received written instructions from the NRA telling me that I'm prohibited from using their name or certification credentials in connection with an online course. New policy. So there's no such thing (as a purely legal matter) as an online course taught by an NRA certified instructor, because the NRA does not certify instructors to present online courses. Moreover, the unauthorized use of NRA's identity in connection with such a course could get one sued in a really big way by the NRA, should they choose to push it. They did indicate that they will cancel the credentials immediately if they hear of anyone violating their policy.
    http://forum.opencarry.org/forums/sh...18#post1680018

Quote Originally Posted by user View Post
    They hinted that they can't support the idea that a person can become "proficient" by taking an online course. They actually do have a rule that says an NRA certified instructor can only use his NRA credentials in teaching NRA courses, but they tell me that they're not pressing that one, because it's in their interest to have as many gun owners out there getting some kind of training and perhaps becoming members of the organization. But they think that online courses are so far beyond the minimum standards, and subject to abuse, that they can't allow their name to be used in connection with 'em. I strongly suspect there's a civil litigation reason hiding in that woodpile somewhere.[my emphasis]
    Follow the money.
    Last edited by Herr Heckler Koch; 01-09-2012 at 09:42 AM.

Herr Heckler Koch

From another guns forum

From another gun forum