Thread: Is there a need to "file" in Virginia to open carry?

Is there a need to "file" in Virginia to open carry?

I was told by a friend that in order to legally carry in Virginia, I need to go to the court clerk's office and basically file as a legal gun owner and declare that I am carrying. I couldn't find anything in VA laws about this, nor have I ever heard of it. I am new to VA and the open carry world and feel like I've done my homework on the subject, but never found anything about filing for anything. Can anyone advise me on this?

If it matters, I have already applied for a CHP so I would imagine it's implied to the clerk's office that I own and intend to carry a firearm...

You don't have to file anything to OC in Virginia. Your ready to go as it is.

No you do not have to file with the court house to carry. Your friend is saying something that he doesn't even no what he is talking about.

Before you tell me thanks for the advice but you want to here it from someone who lives in VA. Know that I don't live there now, but I did for 4 years. I'm no expert on Va laws, but I do know that what your friend is wrong.

Any advise is welcome, I came here with the assumption I would get a general consensus of sound advise. My friend sounded wrong to me, I just figured I would check since I have been carrying for about a month now. No idea where he got that from, definitely sounded strange.

Well, that's a total load of bollocks. Perhaps they got it confused with concealed carry.

Since you are here I will point you to some good information:

Open Carry- http://opencarry.com/va.html

Concealed Carry- http://www.handgunlaw.us/states/virginia.pdf