Thread: Beavercreek (OH) P.D. Ignorant About Open Carry

Beavercreek (OH) P.D. Ignorant About Open Carry

Let me say im new to open carry and this site I have my ccw and have always wanted to open carry but my instructor in my ccw class made it sound like people who open carry are dumb and WILL EVENTUALLY face charges inducing panic charges or disorderly conduct charges which discouraged me. Despite that, due to my online research and this site I have decided to start openly carrying, but some people including the Beavercreek police department don't know the laws surrounding open carry watch the video if you haven't already heard its almost a year old.

http://www.ohioopencarry.org/news/beavercreek-encounter

I wonder, have we in 200 short years diverged so much from our European roots that there's a 'European look'?

I've never expected the average police officer to be conversant in anything other than traffic regulations.
    Last edited by Fallschirmjäger; 01-21-2012 at 10:50 PM.

What makes me sick is the caller even states he has a ccw permit but does not know gun laws.

It has been my experience that the VAST majority of CC permit holders out there DON'T know gun laws very well, especially the ones in the "over-50" crowd. Most CC permit holders are NOT "activists", and only learn enough about gun laws to pass their certification tests.

Also, you need to remember that the VAST majority of CC permit instructors are ex-LEOs and tend to be VERY anti-OC, and often knowingly lie to their classes about the legality of OC. If everyone knew OC was legal, the CC instructors of this nation would be losing millions of dolalrs a year...

We here on OCDO are the exception, I fear. We are obsessed with knowing the law, and we go to great lengths to research common law, court cases, and Statutory law. Most people do not.

It should come as no surprise that an old man in OH with a CC permit doesn't know the law.