Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: owning a handgun at 19

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2011

    owning a handgun at 19

    i know you have to be 21 but it is legal to buy one from someone if you are 18 and over correct. i dont want to break any laws. sorry if its on the wrong forum

  2. #2
    Regular Member bigdaddy1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Southsider der hey
    I am somewhat sure that you can have one, but can not purchase one or have a CCL. You can open carry however.
    Last edited by bigdaddy1; 02-07-2012 at 07:24 AM.
    What part of "shall not be infringed" don't you understand?

  3. #3
    Founder's Club Member protias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    West Allis, WI
    You can own and OC at 18, but you must be 21 to buy from a FFL. Now, 18-20 year olds can still buy from private sales (or gifts).
    No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms. Thomas Jefferson (1776)

    If you go into a store, with a gun, and rob it, you have forfeited your right to not get shot - Joe Deters, Hamilton County (Cincinnati) Prosecutor

    I ask sir, what is the militia? It is the whole people except for a few politicians. - George Mason (father of the Bill of Rights and The Virginia Declaration of Rights)

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, ,
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice. For legal advice consult an attorney.

    I am a Federally Licensed Firearms Dealer, and a Wisconsin peace officer.

    A person under 21 cannot purchase a handgun from a licensed dealer.
    A person over 18 can have a handgun given to them, and can posses a handgun in Wisconsin.
    A Person over 18 but under 21 can legally open carry but cannot get a concealed carry license.

    So what could trip a 19 year old up is the school zone problem. Without a CCW license one cannot carry within 1000 feet of a school zone, openly or concealed. Be careful when in a city/town/village area.

    And then there is the problem of cops that are ignorant of the law. Spending 72 hours in jail and then not getting charged still sucks even after you receive your settlement check.

    I am not a lawyer, this has not been legal advice.

  5. #5
    Founder's Club Member bnhcomputing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Wisconsin, USA
    PK: Don't forget about the "private property" exception to the school zone. If you/me/we are on private property we can OC without any permit. We can carry in the private parking lot of the store/business directly across the street from the school, as well as in the store/business.

    Also, I don;t recommend carrying in places that are clearly posted.

    Just my $0.02

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    A family member or someone close can buy one and "Gift" it to you. You can find someone who owns one and buy it from them. Gunshows, but even there a lot won't sell to under 21. Ammunition is the same you cannot buy centerfire pistol rounds from any stores. Must buy them from someone or have someone buy it for you.

    I am 20 and OC my handgun. The school zone thing is if you knowlingly are in a school zone. To be honest if you are going to walmart, gas station, ect you are safe as far as I know because your on private property of the business. Don't go into posted places and leave if non posted store owners ask.

    Good luck

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Neenah, WI
    OP, You are correct. Be safe. I carried when I was 20 after I bought private sale. No big deal, I have never had a confrontation with LE.

    Carry on.
    Carry: XD .40 4"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts