• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

(Off Topic) Good Hunting Rifle

JackOR

Whats going on Oregon..I'm relatively new to Bend (from California) and looking to get into hunting for the first time. I want a decent rifle that can take down Deer and handle Elk - I've been into a couple local stores but none are much help.

I want something with a decent mag, not one of these 4 shot things, I've had experience with the M4 & M16 through the military, but I've been told those aren't good to hunt with...I would rather stay with semi auto then a bolt action

Thanks in advance

Cremator75

I have an AR-15, but it's more for fun, although it could easily take down a deer or even an elk with great shot placement. My dedicated hunting rifle however is a blot action Winchester Model 70 in .270 WSM. Some say it's too small for elk, but trust me, the WSM gives the .270 plenty extra ft. lbs. for elk. I carry a sidearm with some 300+ grain .45 colt rounds for backup should I need it, so a high cap AR-15 does not seem necessary while out hunting.

I don't think you can go hunting with a 30 round mag. There is a limit (can't remember the number) to how many rounds your gun can have in it while hunting.

petrophase

Campaign Veteran