The law says they must issue or deny an out of state application within 60 days. Having said that, the State Police have decided that they cannot follow this law and at last check they were at a 90 day wait time. You want to call the State Police licensing division at 207-624-7210i applied for a CCW out of stater permit in July, and I wanted to know what the wait times are, and possibly, who to contact to inquire if it was denied or not. I left a message at the State police, but got no reply.
Update to my previous post: check has finally been deposited, so for those keeping track:
Application received: January 30, 2013.
Application processing: April 22, 2013 (82 days, if my counting is correct)
Check Deposited: April 30, 2013 (90 days)
I didn't know Maine's laws were so flexible and modern. Are there other laws that have a "website exemption"? Perhaps this legislative concept should be spread to other states.When I inquired about the 60 day limit, he said they have updated their website to state 150 days
I didn't know Maine's laws were so flexible and modern. Are there other laws that have a "website exemption"? Perhaps this legislative concept should be spread to other states.
Probably no penalty for breaking it, that's why they're so brazen about it. Florida's firearms preemption law had that problem. Counties routinely passed restrictive ordinances in violation of it, and occasionally arrested people in violation of those illegal ordinances. You'd be set free, naturally, but not until you were out the attorney's fees, making it an effective harassment tactic. Eventually the legislature got fed up with it and implemented stiff fines, to be personally paid by the offending bureaucrats. They squealed loudly about how offensive it was to be subject to penalties for breaking the law. It was effective at gaining compliance, though.They could put 3years on the website. Doesn't change the fact that law says 30/60 days and that they are breaking the law.