• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

I need your input

hotrod

I am a full time student at a Kentucky College. I'm not your typical student, because I'm almost 3 times the age of the average freshman. I have a public speaking class and I am due to give an informative speech and of course I selected Open Carry. What I would like from everyone, is what do you think is the most important points to make to students from 18 to 35 about open carry in Kentucky. What would you like me to convey. Thanks for the help. And wish me luck or say a prayer, which ever you think appropriate.:cool:

langzaiguy

I'm a 27 year old grad student, so I think I can identify with this particular audience. Certainly be prepared for intellectual skepticism and the typical liberal BS. Most of all though, I think you're really going to have to convey the relevance of OC. Sure, you CAN OC, but why is it necessary? What place does it have in modern society? I suppose if the assignment is to give an informative speech you should be careful not to make it too persuasive. Come to think of it, the speech class I had in my undergrad, I gave an informative speech on the 2nd A. Didn't know OC was legal at the time. You'll present yourself well if you do as Gutshot says and cite KRS and court precedent--that I'm sure you'll have no trouble at.